News and Announcements

NSF Career Award to Prof. Ed Cackett
Wayne State University astronomer Ed Cackett awarded a National Science Foundation (NSF) Early Career Development (CAREER) Award.
Science Under the Dome Lecture-Saturday at 3:00 pm before NOEL Night!
7th Annual Undergraduate Physics Research Conference. Friday, Nov 8th. New location: Old Main Bldg, Room 1107
7th Annual Undergraduate Physics Research Conference WSU Department of Physics & Astronomy, Friday, November 8, 2013 2:30 - 8:00 pm Room 245, Physics Bldg
SPS Team takes podium at 2013 Warrior Game
SPS team rose and battled out all competitors to take the podium as the 2013 Warrior Game Champions!
Dr. Sultana Nahar recipient of John Wheatley Award of the American Physical Society
Wayne State welcomes undergraduates from around the country for physics research experience
Richard J. Barber Summer Research Program
Professor Paul Karchin Elected Member of WSU Academy of Scholars
Professor Ratna Naik selected fellow of the ELATE program of Drexel University
Pramod Lamichhane Awarded Fermilab LHC Physics Center Travel Grant
Dr. Zhixian Zhou receives tenure and promotion to Associate Professor
Bazzi, Dhindsa, Loggins, Mukherjee, Palihawadana Awarded Best Poster at 2013 Graduate Research Event
Professor Alexey A. Petrov named as Task Force leader for Charm Quark Task Force
Mark Schott receives Vaden W. Miles Undergraduate Physics Award
Hussein Farhat receives American Association of Physics Teachers Award
Sharmine Alam, Sudeshna Ganguly receive Daniel Gustafson Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
Robert Gastineau, Rachael Merritt receive Bohm & Stewart Undergraduate Scholarship Award
Vinicio Tarquini receives Emil and John & Mary Kaczor Endowed Graduate Teaching Assistant Award
Vera Loggins wins poster award at 2013 Graduate Exhibition
March 29, 2013 - Compact Objects in Michigan: 1st Meeting
April 18 - Physics Graduate Research Day
Alfredo Gutierrez & Robert L. Thomas receive 2013 Richard J. Barber Faculty/Staff Award
Professor Ratna Naik Receives 2013 Distinguished Graduate Faculty Award
CLAS Scholarships Available - Apply Now! Deadline February 8th
1st Prize Poster Awardees: Michael Milgie & Anshu Wadehra, Horea Calimente, Mykola Murskyj