News and Announcements

Open Faculty Position in Theoretical Nuclear Physics at WSU
Kip Thorne colloquium on geometrodynamics
Physics professor Ed Cackett contributes to historic NASA research
Four members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy receive awards at the Academic Recognition Ceremony.
On April 27, 2017, four members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy received awards at Wayne State’s annual Academic Recognition Ceremony. Department advisor Dawn Niedermiller received the Outstanding Contributor Award. Graduate student Ed Kramkowski won the Garrett T. Heberlein Award for Excellent in Teaching. Prof. Ed Cackett and Prof. Abhijit Majumder both received Career Development Chair Awards.
Students from six area high schools visit the Physics and Astronomy department during the 16th annual Advanced Placement Day at Wayne State
Congratulations to all speakers and poster presenters at the 8th annual Graduate Research Day
Physics and Astronomy Colloquium: Most vortical fluid - globally polarized Quark-Gluon Plasma
Prof. Xiang-Qiang Chu's research highlighted on ORNL main webpage
Physics and Astronomy Colloquium: Toward an Understanding of Hadron-Hadron Collisions: From Feynman-Field to the LHC
Congratulations to Doaa Taha, who just received an Ovshinsky Student Travel Award for the 2017 APS March Meeting
Friday 2 Dec Seminar: Searching for Ultralight Particles with Black Holes and Gravitational Waves
WSU Physics & Astronomy Professor Chris Kelly wins prestigious NSF CAREER Award
Emeritus Professor, Alvin Saperstein is volunteer of the month at Michigan Science Center
Tenure-Track Faculty Position, Theoretical Condensed Matter Physics
The Department of Physics and Astronomy at Wayne State University invites applications for a full time faculty appointment in theoretical/computational condensed matter physics.
Particle-Astro-Nuclear Physics Seminar: Technical challenges understanding heavy ion collisions in experiment and theory: 9 November at 4pm, Room 312
Particle-Astro-Nuclear Physics Seminar: Going beyond the RAA to v2 puzzle
Physics Ph.D. students Prakash Thapa and Shawn Zaleski awarded research grants for work at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory
Sowjanya Gollapinni, Physics Ph.D. 2012, appointed to the faculty at the University of Tennessee
Sat, Oct 22nd: Dept Professor and Chair David Cinabro presents astrophysics talk at U of M's Saturday Morning Physics lecture series
Applications now open for 2017 APS Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics
The Wayne State University Physics Department is excited to host the 2017 APS Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics (CUWiP), January 13-15, 2017!
Congratulations to Associate Professor Zhixian Zhou for Receiving Career Development Chair Award
State Wide Astronomy Night at WSU Planetarium, Friday April 15th, starting at 5:30 pm
"Effective Field Theories": a new book by Dr. Petrov and Dr. Blechman
New AGRADE Program: get Engineering MS and Physics BS degrees in 5 years!
A new degree program for those students who would like to acquire an engineering degree after only five years at WSU -- and have all the benefits of a Physics undergraduate degree as well.
WSU Dept of Physics to host Conference for Undergraduate Women in Physics in Jan 2017