News and Announcements

Society of Physics Students’ National Office Names WSU Outstanding Chapter
Professor Gil Paz has been awarded a 2018-19 Simons Fellowship in theoretical physics.
Conlin, Petrov, Putschke, and Wadehra receive awards at the 2018 Academic Recognition Ceremony.
Four members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy receive awards at the 2017 Academic Recognition Ceremony.
On April 27, 2017, four members of the Department of Physics and Astronomy received awards at Wayne State’s annual Academic Recognition Ceremony. Department advisor Dawn Niedermiller received the Outstanding Contributor Award. Graduate student Ed Kramkowski won the Garrett T. Heberlein Award for Excellent in Teaching. Prof. Ed Cackett and Prof. Abhijit Majumder both received Career Development Chair Awards.
Wayne State physics student receives U.S. Department of Energy Research Award
Rebecca Ann Coles, a graduate research assistant in Wayne State University’s Department of Physics, has been awarded the U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science Graduate Student Research (SCGSR) award.
Prof. Voloshin Awarded Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review and Physical Review Letters journals
Professor Sergei Voloshin is among the 142 Outstanding Referees of the Physical Review and Physical Review Letters journals, chosen by the journal editors for 2015.
NSF Career Award to Prof T Sakamoto
Wayne State University Biophysicist Takeshi Sakamoto, Assistant Professor in the Department of Physics & Astronomy, awarded National Science Foundation (NSF) Early Career Development (CAREER) Award
Petrov receives Intensity Frontier Fellowship
Professor Alexey A Petrov has received a 2014 Intensity Frontier Fellowship and 2014 URA Visiting Scholar Award. According to Intensity Frontier Fellowships are awarded "to outstanding researchers in the areas of neutrino physics, muon physics, and other topics in the Intensity Frontier." Fellows will receive funding to allow enhanced participation in Fermilab experimental and data analysis efforts, in relevant areas of particle physics theory, or in future projects.
ZhiFeng Huang receives Career Development Chair Award.
Associate Professor ZhiFeng Huang has received a 2014 Career Development Chair Award
Pramod Lamichhane Ph.D. Student Wins Prestigious Fermilab/URA Visiting Scholar Award
Y.G. Adinya and Kris Healey, Ph.D. students, Win Prestigious Scholarship
Bazzi, Devpura, and Nemala Award Winners at WSU 3rd Annual Graduate Exhibition
Professor Paul Karchin and Professor Zhixian Zhou to receive 2009-2010 CLAS teaching awards
Sowjanya Gollapinni Receives Visiting Scholar Award
Sowjanya Gollapinni, Ph.D. student receives a prestigious Visiting Scholar Award at Fermi National Accelerator Laboratory from the Universities Research Association.
Professor Sergei Voloshin and Dr. Punya Talagala receive 2011 Richard J. Barber Faculty Award.
Professor Sergei Voloshin and Professor Punya Talagala were recognized for their significant contributions toward the progress of the Department of Physics and Astronomy.