Alfredo Gutierrez & Robert L. Thomas receive 2013 Richard J. Barber Faculty/Staff Award

The following have been awarded the 2013 Richard J. Barber Faculty/Staff Award:  

Alfredo Gutierrez for his outstanding contributions as a research engineer, to the WSU research program in experimental high-energy particle physics, culminating with the 2012 discovery of the Higgs boson by the joint efforts of the WSU team with the CMS (Compact Muon Solenoid) collaboration at CERN, the Center for Nuclear Research Studies in Geneva, Switzerland.

Emeritus Professor Robert Thomas for his tremendous contributions to the department, college, and the university during his 47 years at WSU, which have brought recognition and visibility to our department.

These awards will be presented on April 4th (Vaden Miles Memorial Lecture Day). 

Congratulations to the awardees!


Back to listing